What Gender are My White Pekin Ducklings

Redcap Chickens Farms

In the Brooder
Aug 17, 2018
Hello, this is my first time with White Pekin ducks and they are one week old I would like to know the gender of the ducks before naming them.

Last edited:
Pics aren’t working. Plus at one week the only way to determine sex is by vent sexing and if we’re not experienced with doing it they can be injured. So best thing is to just wait another 3-4 weeks by then they maybe having voice changes that is a good way to tell sex drakes have raspy voice like they have a cold females haves loud quack can’t mistake that lol

I'm not experienced but luckily have never injured a duck.... How exactly are people injuring ducks doing this? Forcing their neither regions too far out or something?

Despite my inexperience, I have a great accuracy rating...

Almost 50% ☺️

Occasionally I see a little blob of drakeness in there but just as often I think I see or, or don't see it, and I am wrong

Best way I have found of determining the sex of a duck is as follows...
If you want a boy, give it a girls name, and vice versa, works a treat for me, just ask Stella, my beautiful big goofy drake...

For me I just have to wait till 5-6 weeks old when 90% of my girls get their quack (why does all the literature say 9 weeks? I've never had a girl wait that long to get her gorgeous honky little girl voice)

That’s funny and you can ask Hope who ended up being a Opie for the same reason.? Lol. From all I have read on the issue of vent sexing is yes injured hips.

I LOVE that honky voice that girls get when they first get their 'quack'. Though I have noticed drakes will often let out some modest honks around 3-4 weeks. The first 4 ducks I raised did a lot of that and had me convinced they are all girls, and every one was a drake. Now I can tell the difference, but I still find myself wanting to believe those deceptive duckling-drake honks might, just this once, be a sign of a girl.