1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What Gender are these chicks

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Las2062, Mar 11, 2016.

1. Las2062

Las2062 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2016
    Arizona
    Hi All, I am new to all of this and I am hoping you can help me. I have 3 five week old chicks and I am hoping they are all pullets. I live in a city where rosters are a no-no.

This is YaYa I think she is a red sex linked so I understand that she would be female but want to make sure that she is a red star. So curious and brave but sweet
    [​IMG][​IMG]

2nd is Dandelion, Barred Cochin shy and everything scares her but gentle
    [​IMG][​IMG]

3rd is Julius a Buff Orpington so sweet and friendly
    [​IMG][​IMG]

Thank you for any help you can give!

2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Runs With Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Your barred Cochin appears to be a rooster. The other two pullets.

3. Las2062

Mar 11, 2016
    Arizona
    Thank you. We are disappointed but will find him a great home in a couple of weeks when we know for sure.
    If I wanted to try again for another female is it OK mix ages when they are you?

4. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Runs With Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    I would keep anything real young separate but within sight until they get a bit bigger, but I don't have a lot of experience mixing chick ages.

5. Pattycat

Pattycat Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2015
    Overgaard, AZ