What gender is my Black Australorp mix?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by new_to_the_coop, Nov 2, 2010.

1. new_to_the_coop

new_to_the_coop Out Of The Brooder

Aug 31, 2010
    Hi everyone,

I have two chicks that are about 6.5 weeks old. I have no idea if they are hens or roos; I got them from a local farm as newborn chicks. I have no experience with chickens, so I have no idea what to look for. I am posting 4 pics of my one Black Australorp mix for you to take a look at. I tried to get a few good shots, based on what I think you need to see! My heart wants it to be a pullet, but honestly, I have NO idea!!! "She" is a very calm and happy bird. Thanks everyone!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  2. akcountrygrrl

akcountrygrrl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2010
    Nenana, AK
    I'm leaning toward roo on this one. Awful big comb and wattles already for its age.

3. Lbrad7

Lbrad7 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2010
    Ringgold, GA
    Roo

4. Mrs. Feathers

Mrs. Feathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2010
    BA`s are such lovely calm birds....I think you have a roo...lots of comb development for 6.5 weeks.

5. can you hear me now?

can you hear me now? Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2008
    Southwest Missouri
    Comb is awful big and wattles so prominent, at six and a half weeks I say roo.

6. new_to_the_coop

new_to_the_coop Out Of The Brooder

Aug 31, 2010