What happened?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Harley's girl, Feb 24, 2009.

1. Harley's girl

Harley's girl Chillin' With My Peeps

I searched the forums on bad hatches. I did not find the answer I am looking for maybe some one can help me.

I could not get my humidity up past 65% I even added a small cup of water. (a little bigger than a shot glass) I just sat it in there and nothing. [​IMG] I just threw out 12 fully formed chicks and 3 that had quit on I would say days 18. What happened? Why can I get my humidity up to 80% with no problem but this hatch I couldn't get it over 65%? I am really sad. 2 of the dead were my BLRW eggs. [​IMG] I am just a bit down in the dumps. I am suppose to be hatching out chicks in the 15ht of April for a local feed store. Has anyone else had this happen? How did you fix it? I have been hatching for a few years now. I normally have pretty good hatches. I guess it would have to happen that I would have a bad hatch right before I am suppose to hatch for the feed store! [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
  2. chickedydoodaa

chickedydoodaa Taking a break

Feb 8, 2009
    Philadelphia PA
    do you have some eggs left in there or you threw them all out?

I was struggling with my humidity too, I ended up with two plastic tubs each with 1/2 water and a sponge in each. I also put in two separate sponges and a soggy egg carton, that got it up to 71% after being at 64...it took a while to climb up. Try this, if you want to hit 80% I would do what I did, just add extra plastic tubs with a sponge in it, I would say do 3 tubs each with a sponge and 3 other sponges (soaked in warm water mind) I think that will get you up to 80% if not, throw in more soggy sponges. Keep vent holes closed and once you have everything in DON'T OPEN IT AGAIN!

3. horsejody

horsejody Squeaky Wheel

Feb 11, 2008
    Waterloo, Nebraska