what happens when you breed...

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by georgialee, May 12, 2010.

1. georgialee

georgialee Songster

Apr 9, 2009
    Knoxville, TN
    ...a partridge to a mottled?

Sorry if this is a stupid question - I'm new to chicken genetics. [​IMG]

2. RAREROO

RAREROO Crowing

Jul 22, 2009
    Alapaha, Ga
    Quote:Of course it's not a stupid question.

Partridge to mottled would probably give you a bird that is mostly black with some red leakage coming through. The mottled gene is recessive so the offspring won't be mottleds ( though some may show a bit of mottleing while they are young, it will molt out before they start to mature. However if you breed those chicks together or back the the mottled parent, you can start getting more birds that carry two copies of the mottling gene and acutally show mottling as adults.

3. georgialee

georgialee Songster

Apr 9, 2009
    Knoxville, TN
    That makes sense; thank you!. Here's my dilema... I just bought some mille fleur cochin eggs from someone. He also has some partridge x mille fleur crosses - he did the cross to improve type. He offered to throw a few of those eggs in and I said 'SURE!', lol. I don't want to offend him by asking questions on the forum, but I'm trying to figure this all out. Wouldn't you want to cross to a buff or a mottled with correct type in order to keep the mille fleur colors/pattern? So now I'm back to what I should do with those chicks once they hatch... any ideas? I'm more than willing to take on a project if I could do something with them!

Last edited: May 12, 2010
  4. RAREROO

RAREROO Crowing

Jul 22, 2009
    Alapaha, Ga