What have I got?? My chicks arrived one hour ago.

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Stormy, Jul 25, 2008.

1. Stormy

Stormy Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2008
    South Carolina
    I was suppose to have 25 "brown layers", 2 "easter egg" layers, and one "exotic.

They were shipped Wednesday and they arrived at my local PO today (Friday) at 10:10am. I was waiting there for them and brought them straight home. When I opened the box there was one DOA, so that brings me down to 27.

Are any of you more experienced Chick Mama's and Papa's able to tell me what kind of brown egg layers I may have here?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 25, 2008
  2. lleighmay

lleighmay Chillin' With My Peeps

May 21, 2008
    Woodlawn, VA
    The black ones with spots on their heads look like barred rocks. The no-spot black ones look like my australorps. The medium blond ones look like my baby RIRs. No clue on the others. Don't quote me; I'm not an expert..... just comparing to what I've got.

3. Cara

Cara Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2007
    NM
    The yellow ones look like Buff Orpingtons.

4. Chicken_Lover4567

Chicken_Lover4567 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 22, 2008
    Central Texas
    The black ones with the spot on their heads are Barred Rocks, I'm almost sure of that. I got mine last week. The others I'm not so sure. The brown striped ones look like Golden Phoneixes, but don't believe me on that assumption. [​IMG]

5. ParkerVA

ParkerVA Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Blue Ridge, VA
    The creamy colored ones with red/orange (ie the one below the chipmunk striped ones) are Red Sex Link.

Chipmunk stripes are your Easter Eggers most likely.

The more solid red are likely Rhode Island Reds.

Black with white spot, most likely Barred Rocks.

The black with the red face, most likely a Black Sex Link.

The more solid black ones, maybe Black Australorps or Black Sex Links.

6. seismic wonder2

seismic wonder2 I got mad ninja skills

Feb 3, 2007
    san diego ca