what is eating my chicks???

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by lisamarie, Nov 8, 2009.

1. lisamarie

lisamarie Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2008
    northern california
    hi all,

so i have our 10 week old chicks out in their hoop house enclosed by electric poultry netting by premier one. they were fine for about 1 week and then i moved the goats out of their area. 2 nights in a row something knocked over the netting and tried pulling a chick out of the hoop house which is covered in chicken wire. ugh. i came in the morning to find the rest of my chickens feasting on the dead bird which had been only partially pulled thru the wire. so i really made sure the poultry wire was secure for the next night--it's my first time using it so i thought i probably didn't have it working properly (although it did seem to be working). anyhow, this morning all was well. BUT, after being out for a few hours during the middle of the day, i come back to the coop and find the chicks feasting on another dead chicken! there was no apparent sign of break in.

i am perplexed. do you think now that my chickens have gotten a taste of chicken, they killed one to eat it????

thanks for any insights,
    lisa

2. Bizzybirdy

Bizzybirdy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2008
    North of Nashville
    Sounds like a racoon is pulling them into/through the fencing and then the rest of the chickens are pecking at the remains. Either your fence isn't grounded properly and so isn't holding a good charge or something else is wrong. Did you test it with a fence tester? Even hot wire needs to be connected to a VERY strong box, not one for pets. Am not sure how electric poultry netting works but it must not be that good if something can just knock it down. [​IMG]

In my opinion, poultry netting is totally useless. You need to replace the chicken wire on your hoop house with hardware cloth to give added protection to your chicks. Are you locking them inside at night??