What is "good coop ventilation" for the winter months mean?

bbecca

Songster
6 Years
May 24, 2016
Oregon
I am new to this and my chickens are 3 months old. I have two screened windows in my coop on opposite sides, so I was getting good cross ventilation thru The coop. But it's rainy season now and it was coming into the coop so I had to board them up. Now my only opening is when I lift the little door every morning for them to go into the run. Is that enough ventilation thru the winter? I also do the DLM and I'm finding the smell has been really bad. Any suggestions?

I would not imagine that a pop door is sufficient ventilation and the lack of ventilation could be exacerbating the odour from the litter.

Could you tell us how many chickens you have, how much room you have in and out of the coop, height of your coop, a photo of the coop inside and out would really help, do you use a droppings board, and your general area so we can figure out your climate (especially temperatures)? A little detail could go a long way to getting an answer that helps you in your unique situation.

If the smell is really bad that means it’s almost certainly wet. That wet could come from the rain getting in somehow, through windows, a leaky roof, or maybe running in from the bottom at ground level. If the poop is allowed to build up it can get thick enough to hold moisture on its own without any outside moisture coming in. Is your waterer leaking? You need to determine why it’s wet so you can fix that problem.

We really need to know your temperatures before we can give a good response. What is your warmest in the summer and coldest in the winter? Not what is normal, what are your records? How bad can it get?