What is my little peep! PIC + at least tell me he's cute :)

Annie75

Chirping
8 Years
Jul 17, 2011
My lovely Lulu (with my help...see my last topic for awesome story) hatched 9 little guys for me. 2 x light sussex, 1 x possibly speckled sussex (it's brown so I can't see how it's a light sussex like the guy said), 2 x are obviously silkie, and supposedly 4 x pekin bantam frizzles. Would you mind checking this photo for me? I've put a convenient arrow to the guy who looks different. He is small, came from a bantam sized egg I'll also put up the photo of the moment he hatched (in my bed
smile.png
because he has obviously different coloured beak, legs, feet and a ring around his/her eyes. He's mostly black and as a novice I have no idea what he could be. The guy I got the eggs from tried to sell me Japanese bantams....could he be one of those?

100225_funnypeep.jpg

100225_whatishe.jpg

100225_p1040025.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks everyone. Naive me had to google Barred Rock and Maran....and YES he does look like either of those. And now I'm doing this
ya.gif
because either way s/he's gonna be CUTE!!! I reckon I'll let him grow some and then post another pic ok?

Last edited:
He does look like he has barring to me, too. Did the guy you got the eggs from have any barred birds running around?

And I just have to say that even though I'm not a silkie person, I LOVE your Lulu! She might just be the most interestingly beautiful chicken I've ever seen
love.gif

Quote: