What is Oyster Shell? Plus Feed Questions...

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by LilDucky85, Aug 31, 2009.

1. LilDucky85

LilDucky85 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2009
    Northern, Illinois
    I'm new to this whole poultry thing. April 12, 2009 through just after midnight on April 14, 2009 my ducks hatched. I expected them on April 16th but one started coming as early as April 12th, Easter day!

I started them on non-medicated Poultry Starter, but in June changed them to Meat Producer- Poultry Feed. I actually just had to go look outside. I thought it was Poultry Layer Feed but I guess I got this one this time? Anyway, lately I've been reading a lot on here about Oyster Shell? What is this, and should I be giving it to my ducks? Im assuming it makes the shells hard and provides calcium? What should my ducks be eating now? In addition to their feed they always have fruit and veggies too. Should I change them to layer feed? They havent started laying yet but from what I've read it can be any day now right? Im not expecting a good looking egg to start out, but the sign of one before fall would be exciting. This will be my first egg ever! So far 2 are boys, and the others are without a drake feather so 4 girls!

Like I said Im new to this so all adivice is helpful!

Last edited: Aug 31, 2009
  2. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    I offer a bowl of oyster shells separate from their food. Since I have a drake, I don't want him to get too much calcium. This way the girls can take what need when they need it and Tweak doesn't get kidney stones.

3. jacyjones

jacyjones Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2008
    Aberystwyth, Wales
    I offer oyster shell in a separate bowl and my female ducks eat a lot. If they don't have it when they are laying then they use the calcium in their bodies which is bad for them.