What is so hard about hatching call ducks??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tonini3059, Jan 6, 2009.

1. tonini3059

tonini3059 [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]Luv

Nov 6, 2008
    Southwestern PA
    i have 7 due to hatch on the 14th. This is my first time hatching any egg so I have no clue what I am in for. Any words of advice and what to expect? I have been hearing that calls are hard to hatch but i am not hearing why.

2. Rare Feathers Farm

Rare Feathers Farm Overrun With Chickens

They are just really sensitive to temp changes & the humidity has to be JUST right. That is why I've held off for almost a full year with my silky ducks...I cannot hatch them without a broody Muscovy!!

3. monarc23

monarc23 Coturnix Obsessed

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania
    I was told it's something with thier beaks and heads? they're shaped funny so it causes problems with hatching?

4. Fudgie

Fudgie Hatching Queen - Got Fudge?

well here we go, with my first hand experience which is not anything to write home about.

Had calls due on the 1-5th, as well as 8th-10th.

None of the ones on the 1st or 2nd attempted to pip. poked through the air sack and nothing else. We lost them.