What is the best breed to start out with?

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by jodief100, Jun 29, 2011.

1. jodief100

jodief100 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 21, 2010
    N Kentucky/Cincinnati
    My experience with turkeys is limited to raising the Mammoth Bronzes I buy as pouts and eat or sell at 6 months. I have been raising chickens off and on for 30 years and now woudl like to start raising turkeys. I want a nice meaty bird that will breed naturally. Something with market value as a table bird not just decorative. I want to pasture raise them like I do my chickens. I really want to raise Midget Whites or Beltsville Whites. I spoke with a few turkey breeders and they have encouraged me to start with something else. They say those breeds require some experience to work with.

Does anyone else have that opinion? What breed would y'all recommend? What do you like or dislike about the certain breeds?

2. chickenlover54

chickenlover54 Henely Hatchery

May 20, 2009
    Northern Illinois
    Quote:I wouldn't understand why a Midget or Beltsville would require anymore experience than with any other variety

3. mamawolf544

mamawolf544 Unbreakable Heart

Apr 29, 2009
    alvarado, Tx
    I raise 5 heritage breeds and one of them is MW's. They are just like all the other's. The only difference I can tell is they are much friendlier and they are BROODY. But I love mine, they are very easy to care for.

4. Lagerdogger

Lagerdogger Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2010
    Aitkin, MN
    If those are the birds that appeal to you the most, those are the birds you want to start with. My very limited experience with midget whites is that they are not as friendly as narragansetts or bronzes, but others on this site will tell you that they can be very friendly.

5. MissTurkey4

MissTurkey4 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2011
    If your planning to sell them, research what is in demand where you live. Where I live people want big turkeys that look wild. White does not sell good.