What Is The Best Egg Laying Breed ?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by CSAcitizen, Nov 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CSAcitizen

CSAcitizen Out Of The Brooder

Nov 28, 2012
    I keep being asked over the years what is the best layer for steady egg laying. I'm a 5th generation chicken rancher and have been at it all my life and I'm 68 now, so I've had a lot of experience with chickens.
    Many chickens can make for a happy farming life and all of the breeds like the free range life which is the healthiest for both the chicken and the humans eating the eggs. All chickens have the need to scratch and dig into the earth.
    AS for the best chicken breed to have depends on if you want a combo egg laying and meat bird. Or just want pets.
    I've had all kinds of breeds in all kinds of weather conditions and I've raised them from hatch out.
    My number one favorite chicken for egg production that so far no other breed has been able to out-lay is the Rhode Island Red. The White Leghorn cannot even out-lay this breed.

Brown Leghorns are great layers also but a very unfriendly flighty type birds. They lay a white egg in case you are fooled by their brown feather color. ALL Leghorns lay white eggs regardless of the color of the bird.