What is the BEST heat lamp for my $$???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by LilbitChicken, May 11, 2009.

1. LilbitChicken

LilbitChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2009
    Hello, I am new to the chicken family...and am confused on the endless list of different lamps used in the brooder.[​IMG]

WHAT WORKS BEST for you, and where did you buy it?[​IMG]

I appreciate all the help!!!![​IMG]

2. Slywoody

Slywoody Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2009
    MINN.
    RED

3. vortec

vortec Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2009
    Martin County, NC
    For me, I used the red 250W heat bulbs found at any TSC. The clear ones are fine as well but the red will be a little warmer. I used this and the brooders from the same store and they have worked great for my 31 birds, having now out grown the brooder. Hope I could help

vortec

4. sloallie10

sloallie10 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2008
    CA
    how mch would a regular heat lamp cost??

5. LilbitChicken

LilbitChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2009
    OKAY!!!! THANK YOU!!!!![​IMG]

6. ziggy

ziggy Out Of The Brooder

Jun 27, 2008
    CA Central Coast
    I can tell you what I do not recommend. I had gotten a red reptile lamp at Petsmart and it only lasted 10 days before burning out. I was not able to find a red lamp over 25W at any of our local stores so I gave that a try. For $14.99 I am taking it back. My brooder is a large dog crate inside the house so the 250W was too much.

7. Eric in NC

Eric in NC Out Of The Brooder

Dec 5, 2008
    Get a fixture with a dimmer (rheostat sp?) on the cord (available from petsmart, petco, etc.) and a red bulb sized to your brooder (small brooder - 100 watt, large brooder 250 watt) then you can use the dimmer knob to adjust heat down to the right level.

You want one with a ceramic bulb "base/holder" - not plastic!

8. Young MacDonald

Young MacDonald Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2009
    St. Louis, MO