What is the favorite treat for Toulouse Geese?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by Gator113, Sep 23, 2010.

1. Gator113

Gator113 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 25, 2009
    Port Angeles, Washington
    I'm a rookie at all of this.

Two nights ago I brought home our first gang of Geese. Three are Toulouse and we are told that the 4th is a mix of Toulouse and Embden. We are told that 3 are about 6 months old and that one is a bit over a year old. We are told that 2 are female and two are male. They were only $20 each, they look healthy, so I decided to buy them even though I don't believe a word the private seller had to say. If need be, I'll start over in the spring by buying babies.

We have been trying to make them comfortable with their new home. While we will be finishing their shed this weekend, they are presently in our courtyard just outside the back door, allowing for frequent contact with us. Of course we quickly found that keeping them this close to the house has given us the advantage of quickly learning how to walk on slippery Goose gifts. LOL

They are cautiously approaching and eating the food that we set out for them, but they are not the least bit interested in ANYTHING that we toss toward them, such as watermelon, bananas, grapes, peaches and lettuce.

I would like to find the treat that most motivates them and perhaps speeds up the bonding process.

I have a 2 year old GSD that would kill my neighbor if I offered him liver to do the job. The chickens would kill for grapes. We have had our first Muscovy ducks here for about 2 weeks, 3 of these 6 ducks are now eating from our hands. The ducks like grapes but absolutely love watermelon.

So, what if anything can I use to bribe these Geese? Should I just skip the treat attempts or do what my wife's says works and just give them my credit cards and ask them to go shopping? ;>)

Regards,

Dan

Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  2. lovemelovemybirds

lovemelovemybirds Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2010
    Grand Junction