What is the identity of these breeds?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Kneedles, Jul 24, 2014.

1. Kneedles

Kneedles Chirping

Jul 22, 2014
    Wellington, New Zealand
    I apologise if these photographs do not look good; I think that they are made to look slightly worse when I upload them.

These two were at a roadside café:

[​IMG]

What is the identity of the bird at the front? It was free-ranging at a private park:

[​IMG]

My relatives owned this one:

[​IMG]

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited: Jul 24, 2014
  2. Puddin Fluff

Puddin Fluff Crowing

Mar 30, 2012
    River Valley, AR
    I am not a breed expert but those are interesting birds and the pics are not bad. My guess is the top and bottom pics are mixed breeds and I don't know about the middle roo but he is gorgeous! [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. PrestonC

PrestonC Chirping

Mar 10, 2012
    Georgetown, Texas
    A bunch of silkie mixes

4. crazyfeathers

crazyfeathers Songster

Aug 24, 2013
    Auburndale, Wi
    I love the rooster I will be waiting to see what breed he is... I have a bird like the smaller one in picture one I'd love to know the breed. :)

5. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Crowing

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep
    I would have to agree, need a better picture of the rooster, but he too looks like he might have a small crest.

6. Kneedles

Kneedles Chirping

Jul 22, 2014
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Unfortunately, that is no longer possible. That photograph is the only one remaining of that pair; the other photographs of the pair (as well as many unrelated photographs) could not be recovered after my hard drive crashed.
    If you look at the rooster closely, though, you can see that it has a very thick and almost smooth-looking crest.

7. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    I agree it looks like a lot of silkie ancestry!