What is the minimum time a chick needs to be in a brooder?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rhackenb, Feb 18, 2011.

1. rhackenb

rhackenb New Egg

Oct 20, 2010
    I will be getting my chicks in about two weeks. I will build a brooder based on many of the excellent ideas shown in this forum. What I would like to know is what is the earliest point where I can move them a tractor coop. They will be the only ones in it. Is it a matter of simply maintaining body heat? I could put a lamp in the tractor until they don't need it anymore. Would they be ok at 1 month? I've never raised chickens before so I'm a newbie at this. Thanks.

2. Cloverleaf Farm

Cloverleaf Farm Bearded Birds are Best

Sep 16, 2008
    Levan, UT
    Depends on where you are and what your low temps are like right now. When it's warmer out, I have brooded chicks in a tractor, just shut the door so they couldn't go outside on the ground, and put a heat lamp inside.
    [​IMG]

3. BeccaB00

BeccaB00 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 16, 2010
    Kansas
    Normally I'd say 3 weeks, but thats for warm temps outside.

Make sure they're fully feathered, Have a warm coop and buddies

to huddle with [​IMG]

BTW! [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 18, 2011
  4. rhackenb

rhackenb New Egg

Oct 20, 2010
    I live in Indiana. By April 1 it will still be chilly. I think you answered my question. The only issue is keeping them warm. How big do chicks get after one month? My guess is that they are much larger than they were as peeps.

Thanks for the feedback.

5. Opa

Opa Opa-wan Chickenobi

May 11, 2008
    Howell Michigan
    Chicks are going to need supplemental heat (brooder) until they are fully feathered. Until then start with a temp of 90 and reduce 5 degrees weekly.

6. suzettex5

suzettex5 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2009
    California