What Is This Chicken???

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Siajkk, Apr 30, 2016.

1. Siajkk

Siajkk Out Of The Brooder

Mar 12, 2016
    First time chicken owner. So glad I found this group! When we picked up our chicks about 10 weeks ago we were told this chick was a Buff Orpington. Maybe it is...but researching the breed to help me decide if this is a Roo or Hen...this doesn't look like a Buff Orpington! I love her. Don't care what she is. Just would like to know! :). Any thoughts?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Rabbitlover1

Rabbitlover1 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2016
    Some were on this earth.
    Is she a large foul or bantam. I'm no chicken expert but it looks like a Speckled Sussex or maybe a Jubilee Orpington. Hopes that helps and welcome to BYC.

3. Siajkk

Mar 12, 2016
    Thank you so much! I am reading everything I can get my hands on and looking forward to making a contribution to this site! :). I have no idea what she is. She is super sweet. Follows me around like a dog. Comes when I call her. Let's me snuggle her and carry her around like a baby. Just wish I knew what she was for sure and if "she" was a Hen or Roo!

4. Rabbitlover1

Rabbitlover1 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2016
    Some were on this earth.
    If you want some advice on her/his gender try posting her/him on this thread "Not Sure If You've Got A Pullet Or A Cockerel? Click Here!". Hope it helps

5. Jujubara

Jujubara Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2015
    Western Mass
    I'm no expert either, but that comb is awfully large for a 10 week old. I'm leaning toward boy. And I don't think it's a Speckled Sussex. What color are those legs? @Rabbitlover1 's guess with the Jubilee Orpington may be a good guess..

6. Siajkk

Mar 12, 2016