what kind of chickens are these?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by NGILBERT88, Nov 17, 2010.

1. NGILBERT88

NGILBERT88 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 17, 2010
    I think I have 6 hens and 2 roosters. Obviously the white one is a rooster but what kind? One of the darker red ones, I believe is a rooster. He is starting to get nubs were the spurs are going to be. What kind are the 4 light red hens? What kind are the 2 dark red chickens? What kind of hen is the dark goldish one? The guy I got them from said they are about 7 months old. I just got them a week ago and I am new to the chicken business.

Any help would be apprecitated.

Thanks alot,
    Nick

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. RAREROO

RAREROO Overrun With Chickens

Jul 22, 2009
    Alapaha, Ga
    The White and Black one and the gold and Black one look like a pair of Black Sexlinks from a Buff Orp roo on Barred Rock hens, they are nearly identical to mine.

Hens
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Roo ( with RIWhite hens)
    [​IMG]

The two dark red ones are production reds and one looks like it has dark saddle feathers and it may be a roo but the tail is plucked out or molting.

the other 4 hens look like Buff Orps and/or Buff Orp X RIR/ Production Red.

3. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon