what kind of pig to get ?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by cluckinforfun, Dec 4, 2013.

1. cluckinforfun

cluckinforfun New Egg

Nov 19, 2013
    Hardee county Fl
    TOTAL newbie always open to experienced info !! first time interest and no clue what breed to get the best out of . this country thing is all new to me but life is goood ! I have a wonderful mentor who says look it up and ask questions... bring me back whatcha found and we'll discuss it !

2. cassie

cassie Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2009
    What do you want this pig for? My personal favorites are Durocs and Yorkshires. The ones I have had have been gentle, good mothers, and if raised for butcher they make a good carcass because of their long bodies. They tend to be lean and well muscled.

3. cluckinforfun

cluckinforfun New Egg

Nov 19, 2013
    Hardee county Fl
    Thus is my first but I want to raise for meat. And I considered the possibility of letting a pair breed and raising a few to sell

4. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Might want to spend some time with a full grown boar and see if this is something you're really interested in. To say they are huge is an understatement. LOL

Love the Duroc/Yorkshire cross.

5. cluckinforfun

cluckinforfun New Egg

Nov 19, 2013
    Hardee county Fl
    I was truly amazed at how huge and lazy they can be especially the ones I've seen here that are just backyard pets a 200 lb pot York ie mix wow !

6. piggirl19

piggirl19 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 24, 2013
    IN PET LAND! :D