What makes the best broody hen

nchls school

Crowing
6 Years
Apr 22, 2015
Tennessee
I've been raising chickens of many different varieties for over 45 years and there are still surprises. When I first got my serama eggs my first thought, "what in ##### do I do with these?". They were a gift from my wife who knows I like a challenge. I do not like to use incubators unless I have to; so many times over the years I have been disappointed; power outages, unplugged cords, rambunctious pets, and on and on and on. If I really want the eggs to hatch; always, something goes wrong. I had a broody Silkie, but looking at her and the size of her eggs I really didn't think it would work. The serama eggs were so small and the hen so large (for a bantam). I put the eggs under her figuring that some of the eggs would be broken by morning, and, if they were, I'd put the rest in the blasted incubator. Each day I expected a mess. It didn't happen. I have never seen a chicken be so careful getting on and off her eggs. Of the original 13 eggs that I put under her 7 hatched and I was elated that so many survived as my wife had bought them off ebay and they had been shipped. The chicks. So very tiny; it was hard to decide what best to do with them. I could just imagine that big old white hen stepping on them. I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. She never stepped on a single one. All seven a doing great.
At three weeks of age the chicks are still smaller than the silkie's head. I just fed them and stood watching the hen and chicks. Amazing that a hen so large could foster chicks so small. Silkies are the best broodies and I've had hundreds of broody hens over the years. Just amazing.

Judy

Crowing
Premium Feather Member
10 Years
Feb 5, 2009
South Georgia
Besides Silkies, Old English game hens, the game varieties such as Aseel, and Kraienkoppes also make excellent broodies and mamas.

howfunkyisurchicken

Crowing
9 Years
Apr 11, 2011
Tn