What Meat Bird to Hatch?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Tavis, Feb 24, 2012.

1. Tavis

Tavis New Egg

May 27, 2011
    Does anybody have some advice for what would be the best breed of chicken to incubate and raise through late spring/summer? I am a college student heading back to work on the farm for summer, and would like to raise some chickens with my nephews. The hope is to start the incubator when I get home mid to late April and have the freezer full by the end of August. I realize that the day-old cornish X are the ideal birds for this project, but I really enjoy incubating birds and was hoping to find another breed that could develop sufficiently over three months or so. In fact, I even looked for any commercial hatcheries located nearby who might be interested in selling cornish x eggs, but I didn't find any promising leads. Any thoughts on this? I just won't be home any later in the fall to dress the birds, so I would need to finish by mid to late August. Thanks so much for any input. Cheers!

2. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    White Plymouth Rocks would be a good choice. Plymouth Rock was one of the industry standards before the Cornish cross. Today's white rocks are even bigger, due to breeders going for size which oddly is a result of poultry showing not meat.

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

I'd agree. White Rocks. They've always been a solid meat bird. If you bought cheap "straight run" day old chicks, you could easily stock your freezer with the 17 week old cockerels and sell or keep the pullets which would be nearing POL. Win Win. The nature of a true dual purpose breed. The WR cockerel cannot compete with the CX in meat, nor will the WR hen compete with the hyper bred commercial layers. But they'll come close enough in both scores.

4. Tavis

Tavis New Egg

May 27, 2011