What should I be looking for?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by b_eckman, Dec 4, 2009.

1. b_eckman

b_eckman New Egg

Dec 4, 2009
    North Central Florida
    I'm just beginning to plan for chickens and I need some help. I live in North Central Florida in the Gainesville/Ocala area. I know that we have fox, raccoons, possums, and a variety of "domestic" predators. Is there anything else that I should be aware of when I'm building my coop and run?

2. peckndirt

peckndirt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2009
    North Carolina
    Owls,Hawks,and snakes. [​IMG]

3. Miltonchix

Miltonchix Taking a Break

Jul 14, 2007
    Milton, Florida
    Neighbors and/or feral cats.
    Fire Ants

4. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
    Rodents.

5. pedro24

pedro24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2009
    arthur, ontario
    dog and wild pigs not so sure about the wild pigs thou

6. kartking22

kartking22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2008
    Wisconsin
    [​IMG] There's so many predators out there that it's almost impossible to keep everything out. This is like asking how to understand a woman.[​IMG] It's always a never ending battle and once you think that you know everything, the rules change.
    No one mentioned alligators yet.... it's possible!
    I have a list a mile long of predators in my area. I can't protect them from all predators but compile a list of most threatening and most abundant. This should get you started. [​IMG]

7. chicks4kids

chicks4kids Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Northern Indiana
    I think everyone has the list down pat for you...all I can say is do NOT just use chicken wire. It's designed to keep chickens in...not predators out.