What should I do??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by smk2010, Jun 28, 2010.

1. smk2010

smk2010 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 25, 2010
    I am new with all this stuff so any and all advice will be greatly appreciated!!!
    One of my hens has started brooding (been on eggs for 7 days). We have 6 hens that are laying, 1 big rooster, and 10 five month old pullets. I assume the soon to be mamma hen is laying on almost 20 eggs right now since we did not get any eggs at all for 3 days and only 2 on the fourth day. We have 8 laying boxes but they all seem to like to share the same box. If mamma is indeed laying on aprox 15-20 eggs, how safe is it going to be to leave her and the soon to hatch chicks in the coop with the other chickens? Also, the box her and the eggs are in is about 3 feet off the ground. Is it safe to move both mamma chicken and the eggs to a new location or should I wait until they hatch?

Thank You!!!!!
    SMK

2. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC
    I can't speak for anyone but myself, so I'll just tell you what I did this spring.

I moved the hen and eggs to a nest I made in a cage large enough for the nest, feed and water. The cage was about 2.5' up in an open front coop. Easy access for me! All the other hens and the rooster could be all around but not bother her and not keep laying eggs around her. I removed the eggs she couldn't keep covered and left Her Majestic Grumpiness to do her job. Once a day I would risk my life by forcing her out of the cage for a dustbath and walk.

She only had 2 eggs hatch, so I was able to keep her and the chicks in the cage until the chicks were 2 weeks old. Then I moved the cage to ground level and propped the door open enough for the chicks to go in and out. After a week of that the other hens ignored the chicks, except for the occasional disciplinary peck on the butt.