what should the humidity be?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by ralphs, Feb 15, 2009.

1. ralphs

ralphs New Egg

Feb 9, 2009
    I'm new to this...what should the humidity be and what temp should i store eggs before incubating?

2. B. Saffles Farms

B. Saffles Farms Mr. Yappy Chickenizer

Nov 23, 2008
    Madisonville, TN
    Still-air incubator (no fan):101.5 degrees.

Fan Forced incubator: 99.5 degrees.
    Humidity: 82*-88*F while turning
    90*-94*F the last 3 days. (for wet bulb)

I store my eggs at room temp. Turning them once a day [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2009
  3. panner123

panner123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2007
    Garden Valley, ca
    Here we go again. Let's settle this once and for all. I agree 100% with the temps given. I disagree 100% with the humidity given. With the humidity that high you will drown the chicks. There is only one way to prove this. Take 2 bators (same make & model) side by side and place 3 dozen eggs in each. Use the temps as stated in both. In one use the humidity as given, in the other set the humidity at 35% for the first 18 days. In this one never let the huidity go below 25% or above 45% and for the last 3 days kick the humidity up to 60%. Don't count any infertile eggs and see which bator produces the most live chicks. In the first your hatch rate should be 5 to 10% if you are lucky. In the second (low humidity) your hatch rate should be at 80% or better. Prove me wrong and I will buy your eggs. Prove me right and enjoy your improved hatch rate and the chicks it produces.

4. tiki244

tiki244 Flock Mistress

Jan 1, 2008
    WestCentralWisconsin