1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What size feeders and waterers?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by lereg15, Mar 11, 2015.

1. lereg15

lereg15 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2015
    Crossville, Tn
    Hello all! I am new to raising chickens and will be getting about 3 RIRs and 3 Buff Orps in about a week, so I'm trying to get everything I need to make them comfortable and healthy now, before it's too late. Yesterday I built my brooder pen out of 2x2's, a 4x4 piece of particle board and chicken wire, so I have that done, except for the roof part of it. I'm not sure how I want to go about that yet. I still need to get feed, a heat lamp and food and water containers. My question is, how big are your feeders and waterers? Can I get bigger ones so they will be able to grow into them, or do I need the smaller one's to start out with?
    Thank you in advance!!

2. dheltzel

dheltzel Overrun With Chickens

Nov 30, 2013
    Pottstown, PA
    Make a trip to a farm store like TSC and buy all those supplies. You will want the feeder and waterer that screw onto a quart jar. The feeder works fine with a mayonaise jar, but the waterer needs a real canning jar (Mason, Ball, etc) or it jams easily. They make plastic jars to fit as well.

Another item I recommend is a desktop lamp dimmer from a home center. Plugging your heat lamp into that lets you dial down the heat and save electricity. I watch the chicks and if they are all sleeping well outside the lamp perimeter, I dim the light a bit. I can fine tune the amount of heat so they sleep close to the lamp.

3. dheltzel

Nov 30, 2013
    Pottstown, PA
    Oh yeah, welcome to BYC !!

4. lereg15

Mar 11, 2015
    Crossville, Tn