What sorts of noises do your chickens make?

confusedturtle

Songster
8 Years
Apr 6, 2011
Virginia
Up until now our chicks: 2 red star pullets (6 wks old), 2 buff orp mixes (not sure of sex, 5 wks old) and one undecided (either a red star roo or an amberlink pullet, 6wks) had just peeped. They seem to have a content peep, a "Hey I found something cool!" peep, a roost-time peep, and a nervous peep. Today I have started to notice a slight squ-awk from one or two of my chicks. At first I thought dang it, my possible roo is a roo and then I realized it wasn't that one. I think it is coming from one of the buff orp mixes but my daughter says she thinks it is coming from one of the red star pullets. Do hens squ-awk sometimes? As you can tell I have never really been around chickens until now so I am very new to this. We bought our chicks when they were 4 weeks old.

Yes, they can make all sorts of noises, it is great fun trying to figure out what noise is for what!
big_smile.png

They do make all kinds of noises as they mature. I didn't realize the range until we had to keep a pullet in the hospital crate in the house for about 4 weeks b/c she had a fractured leg. She chirped, squawked, trilled, whistled. . . everything but the roo predator call and crow, basically
lol.png

It is pretty cool, I love it. When I took out our leftover corn on the cob tonight I got the "I think she's got treats!" and the "yay for corn" peeps. Cant wait until they are more trusting & don't run from me like the road runner runs from the coyote.
sad.png

LOL! My chickens get extra loud when I come near the coop. I imagine they are saying "Yeay the treat lady is here....GIVE THEM TO US NOOOOWWW!!!" I went inside the coop first before greeting them in my normal way and they all rushed me inside the coop all chatty and rowdy.
gig.gif
gig.gif