What the heck are they doing? Confusion. . .

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Foxyrockie, Nov 8, 2016.

1. Foxyrockie

Foxyrockie Out Of The Brooder

Jul 9, 2015
    Dallas, Tx
    I'm a newbie Chicken owner with only about a year of Chicken experience. After a rouge puppy attack I was left with one each male and female RIR chicks. I named them Ricky and Lucy and kept it moving. They're now about 24 weeks old.

Problem: Ricky is mature and crowing.Lucy isn't pulling her weight around the joint, as I have yet to get an egg. Shes on thin ice with me. Lol. In the last couple days, I've seen Ricky "mounting" her, for lack of a better word. What in the world is going on? I assume that that's how Chicken's mate, so ok. But shouldn't she be able to lay eggs first? Did Ricky not get the notice that she's not "there yet"? I know it seems kinda silly to ask, but I'm just not familiar with this kind of Chicken behavior. Essentially, I'm asking if this behavior means Lucy is close to laying, or if it's more a reflection of Ricky being mature first.

[​IMG]

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Males do not care if a female is mature and producing and tend to mature sooner than their same-aged female counterparts - they will mount regardless. When the females begin to be submissive to the mounting it is often an indication that they are nearing production age.

3. Foxyrockie

Jul 9, 2015
    Dallas, Tx
    Yea she's definitely not submissive. She pretty much walks off. I know the waiting game is all part of having chickens, but isn't 24 weeks kinda late? And really, it's just been that long since I've had them. I don't know how old they were when I bought them. At least a week or two.

4. rebrascora

rebrascora Overrun With Chickens

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK
    Hi