What the heck is self blue split “true blue”

Summerjade1357

Hatching
Mar 25, 2023
If I’m looking to add a blue rooster to my silkie breeding flock (I’m new to this) and I have black, and splash hens how do I ensure I get a blue rooster and not something split to lavender (or is that okay)
I want to end up with blue, black and splash chicks. And ideally would find some blue hens as well so I guess this question applies to both hens and roosters

I messaged a breeder asking if she had blue silkies and she said “Most of our flock is shades of blue. From lavender to dark blue almost black.Lavender is the self blue gene. Our rooster is self blue split "true" blue.”

So could I get a rooster from her and confidently breed to get, blue, black, and splash chicks from the parings ?

*I THINK*

'Self Blue' AKA Lavender breeds true, lavender + lavender = lavender
Blue, black or spash + blue, black or splash = different quantities of blue, black and splash.

If you have a black Silkie and a splash, when they mate you will only get blue silkies. There is no chance of lavender it’s a different gene than the BBS genes that result in blue, black and splash. Is there a reason you think you might get lavenders?

Attachments

• 2E73126D-8532-411A-B69C-250FBD2FD95B.jpeg
    2E73126D-8532-411A-B69C-250FBD2FD95B.jpeg
    286.4 KB · Views: 30
If I’m looking to add a blue rooster to my silkie breeding flock (I’m new to this) and I have black, and splash hens how do I ensure I get a blue rooster and not something split to lavender (or is that okay)
I want to end up with blue, black and splash chicks. And ideally would find some blue hens as well so I guess this question applies to both hens and roosters

I messaged a breeder asking if she had blue silkies and she said “Most of our flock is shades of blue. From lavender to dark blue almost black.Lavender is the self blue gene. Our rooster is self blue split "true" blue.”