What time do you let your hens out in the morning?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by traceyseymour, Feb 11, 2008.

1. traceyseymour

traceyseymour New Egg

Feb 11, 2008
    BATH, U.K
    It's my first time at keeping poultry and I have 3 wonderfull hens that are 30 weeks old and laying me an egg a day each. they are free range all day in my back garden.
    My problem is i'm not sure what time to let them out in the lighter mornings & what do I do when it gets light at some unearthly hour in the morn.!!! they always know when to go in at night so thats not a problem....please help.[​IMG]

2. Wildsky

Wildsky Wild Egg!

Oct 13, 2007
    California
    I don't think it really makes a huge difference.

I let mine out when I get out there [​IMG] Normally around 8:15am at the moment - weekends though they have to wait till 9 or 9:30! [​IMG]

3. Buff Hooligans

Buff Hooligans Scrambled

Jun 11, 2007
    I do the same as Wildsky.

4. Crazy4Chicks

Crazy4Chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2007
    Glendale, AZ
    between me and DH we try to let them out the same time every morning - normally around 7 and they go to bed when ever my rooster tells them to.
    now during the warmer months when it gets light ealier i think we will keep to the same routine of letting them out at 7

Julie

5. newchickowner

newchickowner Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2007
    Texas
    My girls get on the school bus just before daylight. Because there is a couple of Owls living on and near my property, I wait till the sun is up, I usually go inside and make a pot of coffee. By then the sun is up and then I let them out.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2008
  6. cheeptrick

cheeptrick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2007
    New Hampshire
    Winter time they are let out at 8am...if no snow on the ground....they are let out at 10am to discourage early morning predators.