What to do if it pips at the wrong end? Help!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jettgirl24, Jul 28, 2010.

1. jettgirl24

jettgirl24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2010
    Duvall, WA
    I'm a newbie, this is my first hatch and it looks like my baby might have pipped at the wrong end... I can see it moving in there a little bit but don't hear peeping... Also, the membrane is punctured but looks dry even though my humidity is ok. How long do I leave it until I help? What do I do I have to help? I've read as much as I can on helping but just wondering if there is anything special if they're pipped at the wrong end.

Update: I did hear chirping... I've been reading about what other people have done... Sounds like some people waited 24 hours? I don't know how long to wait and see... Is there a risk of it drowning if it's upside down?

Here's a pic, I know it's not the best but it's all I could get through the window.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
  2. jettgirl24

Feb 21, 2010
    Duvall, WA
    Ok I feel dumb... In my stressed out state I failed to see the other post about pipping on the wrong end that was right here on the front page... Whoops!

3. Mrs. Feathers

Mrs. Feathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2010
    I would suggest waiting...always best if they can get out on their own because the physical process of hatching is so important in the chicks development. A couple hatches ago was the first time I had one pip at the wrong end and not be able to get out on its own. I don`t believe in helping but because the pip was at the wrong end I helped by zipping around the egg after 24 hours. Glad I did....it was a very large and very healthy chick. After that I decided that maybe helping was okay...so helped one on our last hatch that was pipped properly but taking over 30 hours to hatch. What a mistake, it had no eyes and lots of other issues. DH had to euthanize the poor little guy.