What to do? OR I am not good with people.

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by skirbo, Jan 15, 2009.

1. skirbo

skirbo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2008
    Walton County, NW FL
    Okay, I'm in a bit of a quandry and granted it's mostly because I care too much about what people I like think of me.

I have many, many pets. Too many, long story. I also have two horses. The equine veterinarian that I like the best comes to the farm I board at and also has recently opened a small animal clinic about 30 minutes from me with good prices and convenient office hours which is unheard of in this area.

The problem (and I guess it's only a problem for me) is that the guy doesn't like me, as a person doesn't like me. I've tried and tried to be nice and he's never rude or anything like that, but I just know he doesn't. The woman that owns the farm I board at gets her calls returned, gets her questions answered, gets joked around with and that kind of thing. I don't.

So... I don't know what to do. Would you continue giving him your business? I don't have another equine vet that I would want to use if given a choice and there is always a buffer person at the barn. But I'm struggling over whether to give him my small animal business or not. It would save me some money, but is it worth the lack of ... I don't know, warmth(???) that I'm used to in my veterinary relationships? I hate seeing a look on someone's face that says "oh crap it's her again", especially when I have to see that person over and over again.

So, it's not that big a deal, really and I realize I'm making a mountain out of a molehill. But I have enough animals that I'm often at the vet's office once a month for staggered routine stuff. Is saving money worth a self-esteem mini-crisis every time?

Thoughts, besides getting myself into therapy or something of that nature?

Sarah

2. ksacres

ksacres At Your Service

Nov 16, 2007
    San Antonio TX
    Ignore them. That's what I do.