What to do (or not) if the power goes out

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by tomato lady, May 19, 2009.

1. tomato lady

tomato lady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2009
    Eatonville, WA
    This is my first time with baby chicks. I have 14 of them about 2 ½ weeks old in the chicken coop under a light bulb to keep warm. I have worried about the light bulb burning out or something because our nights are not very warm here in Washington this time of year. Tonight I woke up at midnight to the “or something”. Our power was out! No nice warm bulb for my babies! I waited about an hour and then decided I had to do something. The only thing I could think of was to warm up the van and put them in there in my little dog carrier.

I got the little animal carrier ready and started up the van and THE LOW FUEL LIGHT WAS ON!!! Who left the van on empty??!! Oops, that would probably be me coming home on the fumes again. Now I not only needed to keep the chicks warm but I needed to get gas ....... nearest station open almost 20 minutes away. I loaded the chicks into the dog carrier and put them in the warm van and took off to get gas. The chicks kept me company with their sweet little peeping. They were warm and happy. When I got home it was nearly 3 a.m. and the lights were back on. Well, at least I have gas for morning.

Maybe someone can answer this question. How long would the chicks be able to keep warm enough without a light on a 40 degree night? I suspect they would have been just fine if I had just gone back to sleep.

Viki, the tomato lady

2. firedove

firedove Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2008
    Fitzwilliam NH