What to do with a broody hen when the eggs do not hatch

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Shahann, Aug 2, 2014.

1. Shahann

Shahann Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2014
    I have a nice brood hen. She sat on the eggs consistently for 25 days. After 25 days I decided to do the float test. All eight eggs floated but did not move, chirp, or pipe. I decided to take the eggs from her and break them one by one. They were all yellow yolks and one that started to go black. No chicks.

My question is, what do I do with the broody hen now? I gave her some golf balls to sit on until I found an answer. Do I worry that she does not feel successful? Do I go get her some chicks? Do I do a better job of checking eggs that I give her next time and make sure they are fertilized (now that I know how to look for the air pocket with a flashlight?)

I know chickens have personalities. Do they seem to have feelings?

I'm a rookie! But I LOVE my chickens!!! I got them Memorial Day weekend this year (2014). I have a lot to learn.

I am also concerned that my rooster is too young to fertilize the eggs. I purchased 10 hens and a rooster from a friend that moved. She had a coyote massacre right before she sold them to me and replaced the original rooster with a "young" rooster. I have only seen him "working" once. He does protect the flock and alert them of things. He does not crow yet.

I can see the white spot on the yolks when I crack them open for breakfast. The majority of them have it. I am assuming they are fertilized.

Any tips are welcome!

2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    All eggs have a white spot. Fertile eggs will have more of a white bulls eye, while with an infertile egg, it looks more dense... kind of like a granular nugget on the yolk. Sometimes, you have to crack the egg open in a plate, and roll it over to see the white spot, as it will be on the "bottom" of the yolk.