1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

What to do with a mismatched chick?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lindaroot, Jan 27, 2015.

1. lindaroot

lindaroot New Egg

Jan 27, 2015
    I am new at this and I made mistakes. My neophite husband ordered hatching eggs on ebay--pendesencas and silkies. Since he is bedridden, I became the conscripted chicken lady. At first I was livid, but when the first eggs hatched, I became a dedicated chicken person. Of the first batch of 11, three hatched and I learned a lot about the unreliability of incubators during the process, so I had another on hand for the silkies,of which only one out of 10 hatched. The eggs were filthy when they arrived, and on candling at 11 days and again at 17 , only one showed signs of being fertile. That egg produced my great friend Blackie, who unfortunately was hatched ten days after the penedesencas and they did not mix well. Since then (late October) I have hatched five out of 7 Buff Orpingtons and one more Pennie (1 of 5) and they are in a coop outside and doing well, but not when I try to add Blackie to the mix first they were afraid of him and then they began to terrorize him. ( Blackie was hatched on 10/25 and I am convined is a roo) . I have tried on several occasions to acclimate him to my latest batch of silkies, born on Christmas) but he refuses to share his space with them.