What to do?

B-bland

Hatching
8 Years
Oct 25, 2011
I'm new to raising chickens for meat so I'm curious as what to do. I'm thinking about ordering one of the "Frypan specials" of 50 cockerels. All my chicks stay in a bitty run with hardware cloth bottom to keep them out of their poop and they get vitamins and electrolytes in every gallon of water. Is there anything else that I should do with these chickens before butchering? These will all be heavy heritage breeds so when should I process them as well. Thanks

Most hatcheries, that I have seen, sell extra leghorn or leghorn-type roos as their frypan special, not heavy breeds though there are a few hatcheries that will give you heavy breeds. It will be about 16-20wks before they are meaty enough to process. You are going to need a fair amount of space to raise 50 birds to 16-20wks. If you can free-range or put them in a tractor once they are old enough to be out of the brooder, that would be best.

You will be financially ahead to pay for good Cornish Cross chicks. The chicks cost more, but you save on both feed and time when you raise them, so they end up a lot cheaper per pound of meat and a lot quicker.

People will raise dual purpose chicks for meat, but those are people who also use the hens of those breeds to produce eggs and also want to hatch out their own chicks.

If you are going to order one of the specials, at least verify that they will be heavy breeds. I've eaten leghorns, and they are delicious, but they are small and do not grow well, using a lot of feed to get to size. If you have some sort of way to feed them that is free to you, then Leghorns are OK for small chickens. If you have to buy feed, then they are very small for the cost of raising them.

8 week and done. I would go with the Cornish X.

Next time I am thinking about raising the hens to 3 -3.5 lbs and having a freezer full of cornish hens. I love them smoked.

Darin