what to feed grown ducks?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ozark hen, May 28, 2007.

1. ozark hen

ozark hen Living My Dream

Apr 4, 2007
    Mansfield, MO
    I got my first ducks Sat. at the swap meet. I was told to feed them what I feed my chickens. They don't seem to be eating anything at all! Could they just be scared from the move? I have thrown grass clippings in with them and they have not touched them. They have been in their pool but mostly huddle in the back of the enclosed pen on a bed of straw. We have the pen covered to keep them safe and dry. I even added some dog food to the pellets of chicken feed hoping to entice them but to no avail. [​IMG] These are a pair of Indian Runners just under a year old. Thanks all.

2. Standard Hen

Standard Hen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2007
    Massachusetts
    I am no duck expert but I did have some and geese and I fed them regular layer pellets.
    It will take them a couple of days for them to get used to the move so don't worry about it right now. They will acclimate and I am sure they love their pool of water.
    I found chickens were much easier for me as I have no pond and having to fill that pool everyday for them was just getting to be to much for me. Winter they went pooless!
    Good Luck with you new additions!

3. Sugar Sand Farm

Sugar Sand Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2007
    North Florida
    Hi I'm no duck expert either But I have geese. We feed them layer pellets too as its the only thing we can find locally. Its also what the farmer we got them from feeds. But I also give them plenty of greens waterfowl need naicin. I have found they really kike collard greens, romaine lettuce, frozen peas and of course frozen corn. I also float their greens in water You could try that Also check with Terrie in Oregon shes the duck expert. Hope this helps Micki

4. ozark hen

Apr 4, 2007
    Mansfield, MO