What to Start Your Organic Chicks on When They Arrive

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by 4under3, Feb 20, 2012.

1. 4under3

4under3 New Egg

Feb 20, 2012
    I'm new to raising chickens and SO excited. My husband and I are moving to the farm and I've already ordered my chicks.

I know we will be having our meat and egg birds forage as much as possible, but what do I start them off on when they arrive? I have watched a video on sprouting BOSS, Oats, Millet and Barley. Can baby chicks eat those also? Or is that too big for them when they are just hatched?

Also, does anyone add kefir, brewers yeast, kelp, D.E and molasses to their feed?

Thanks for your helpful knowledge in advance. :)

T

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

You'll need to start them on organic chick starter. Sometimes a bit tough to find, so search and secure now. Organic chickens, to maintain a true organic status, must be fed organic feed from day one and ONLY organic feed. They won't eat those other things, to speak of, until 8 weeks of age, give or take. Sure, there are a few things they can eat, scrambled eggs, oat meal, etc, but those would also have to be organic and would require you finding some chick grit to mix in their feed for proper digestion.

The basis of their feed, 95% of their calories, should come from the chick starter for a good long while.

The problem with selecting feed products from all over is certifying that each and every one is organic.

Oh, and enjoy your new adventure!!!

3. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

In the beginning, just to make it easy on yourself, you could just start of with an Organic Starter feed. You can usually find this at local feed stores.

When they get a bit older you can add other things, making sure they get grit along with it. You can give them yogurt at a pretty early age and they seem to love that.