What to use for cleaning shavings

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Rammy, Dec 5, 2010.

1. Rammy

Rammy Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2008
    I have gone to the deep litter method this year instead of using straw, which I used in the past. Right now Im trying to use just a cat litter scoop to scoop up the droppings but this has proven to be time consuming and tedious. Using a regular rake for stalls doesnt work because the droppings fall through. Does anyone else use the deep litter method and waht do you use to clean the shavings? Thanks.

Rammy

2. showme69

showme69 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 31, 2010
    Union, MO
    I'm new to all this and don't even have chickens yet, but from what I've read, my understanding of the DLM is you don't clean the droppings out. You mix them in the shavings and add some new shavings on top once in awhile. Over several months, the bottom layers compost naturally, which also helps heat the coop a little in the cold months.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=1560-DLM

3. mississippifarmboy

mississippifarmboy collects slightly damaged strays

That's right. I do clean out from under the roost poles about once a month, but I only have to clean the full coop in spring and fall.

4. ndemerly

ndemerly Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2010
    Owosso, MI
    A good scoop shovel would probably work well.

5. booker81

booker81 Redneck Tech Girl

Apr 18, 2010
    Mid-MI
    Yup, minimal/no cleaning.

I have about 8" or so of shavings, placed in there in May. I just use a pitchfork to "fluff" it and mix in the droppings under the roost board, and throw a few handfuls of BOSS down so the chickens do the rest of the mixing for me.

Minimal smell, every couple months I'll throw another bag of shavings in. The plan is to haul it all out in May and start it again.

6. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers