What type of Bantam is she?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by whambam, Jul 24, 2013.

1. whambam

whambam Out Of The Brooder

Jun 24, 2013
    Southwest
    I'm thinking Pekin/cochin? Is there anything else she would be (clearly a bantam though). What do you call her color other than black, since she isn't completely solid.

I don't yet have a full body photo, I can try to get that tomorrow. For now I just have the one pick of her face & comb. She's all black aside from some lighter color around her neck (you can see in the photo). I'm a noob to chickens and don't know all the fancy terminology yet. And yes, feathery little legs. I can't believe how light she is!

I just picked her up today. Someone's chickens didn't like her and all I was told is she is a young hen, black bantam. Sweet as can be. It's cute cause all my young hens (11 weeks) all "nested" down in the straw closest to her isolated cage. I *hope* that means they will play nice, as I know introducing just one is less than ideal. If they had more I would have grabbed them too.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 24, 2013
  2. ShayBaby

ShayBaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2013
    Lucasville, OH
    Indeed, some full-body pictures could be handy. :) Could also (rare) be brahma, but I'd guess she's black Cochin. Not really sure what's up with the neck color..can't tell if it's just spotty or laced, better pics might help.

She's adorable. Glad you got her away from the bullies.

Last edited: Jul 25, 2013
  3. whambam

Jun 24, 2013
    Southwest
    It looks laced. Since it's just the edges of the feather that's lighter. I will get better pics tomorrow. Thanks for the reply :)

4. She's a black Cochin w/ penciling on her neck. Often happens in hatchery Cochins. A side pic would help, but probably a hatchery Cochin

5. whambam

Jun 24, 2013
    Southwest
    why does that happen? do you know?