What type of goat breed should I get for 4-h?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by goats rule 101, Aug 26, 2013.

1. goats rule 101

goats rule 101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 22, 2013
    Minnesota
    I am looking for a breed of goat to get for 4-h. I want a small breed that is somewhat easy to handle and that will make good pets. I was thinking nigerians but I don't want to milk them. Is there a way I can show them without having to milk them? Also any information on showing rouen ducks and wyandotte chickens would be helpful.
    Thanks Hannah H. :D

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    I am not a goat expert, so I can't help you there. However, I can tell you about showing your types of poultry.

First of all, type (the body structure of a fowl, unique to each breed) is very important with Wyandottes. A good Wyandotte will have a nice broad back, round, full tail, wide skull, and sturdy legs. In fact, they are often described as a "bird of curves" because every part of their body should be rounded. Some common disqualifications of Wyandottes include: inverted spike (when the spike of the rose-comb indents into the base of the comb), a foreign comb variety (Wyandottes are supposed to have rose-combs), stubs (downy feathers) on the legs, and underweight (Wyandottes should weigh at least six pounds).

To get show-quality Wyandottes, it is essential that you buy from a breeder, and not from a hatchery. Hatchery birds are often below standard weight, have narrow, triangular tails, and may have the wrong type of comb or leg color. Birds like these will be marked down at shows, and may even be disqualified.