What type of waterererererer...waterers?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by The Lazy L, Dec 22, 2011.

1. The Lazy L

The Lazy L Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2011
    As a Newbie I've tried to read all the post I could find on waters and I'm more confused then normal.

Appears there a 3 basic types.

What Grandma used .

The nipple .

The water cups .

Northern Indiana winter temperatures usually in the 20 degrees (Fahrenheit). Low temperatures of the teens or single digits sometimes. So the water will have to heated.

Probably because of nostalgia I'm leaning toward what Grandma used. Take a clean refilled water out in the morning and swap it out. Use either a store bought water heater (thermostat controlled) or home built (I can controlled the heat thru a X10 device ).

The water cup method looks like the "guts" are outside of the bucket/pipe and the water would have to be heated hotter to prevent freezing.

But the nipples system I could install on the bottom of a suspended bucket with either an aquarium or bucket heater. Have a second bucket with a second heater cleaned and filled, swap it for the one in the the coop. A bit more work unplugging the heater but doable. Doesn't use any floor space, cleaner with less wet bedding.

I leaning toward Grandma's method. If it was good enough for her it's good enough for me! But then there's the thought if you're doing it the same way as they did 20 twenty years ago chances are you're doing it wrong (fast pace of modern technology).

Am I missing any pros or cons?

Suggestions for a first time Chicken Rancher (in regard to waterers)?

What's your experience?

Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  2. blueberrychickens

blueberrychickens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2010
    Hudson, MA