What would be the youngest a EE could be sexed?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by The Critter Place, Oct 25, 2011.

1. The Critter Place

The Critter Place Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2011
    Tucson, Az.
    Hi Everyone,
    I'm very new to chickens, and we had one little beauty hatch about a week ago. I cannot have roo's here , and am praying it's a girl! How soon would we be able to tell?

Here's our sweetie! I named it 'Dandy'.

This picture is hatch day.. a few hours old.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 25, 2011
  2. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    By the time it is fully feathered I can sex most any Easter Egger. [​IMG] Don't worry, it won't crow til it is at least 3 months old, usually 5 months though.

3. SueBaby

SueBaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2011
    Oceanside, CA
    Without another same-age clutch mate you will probably have a harder time being sure. Somewhere around 6 weeks you should see if the comb is developing/reddening or not, but you might not. You might be able to search here for pics of EEs about the same age as yours later on and see what those chicks look like compared to yours. Chicken sexing can be very tricky, and EEs seem especially so. Good luck.

4. crusting

crusting Out Of The Brooder

Sep 21, 2009
    I have an almost 8 week old easter egger, and he started crowing A LOT this morning. So you could know by then.

5. The Critter Place

The Critter Place Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2011
    Tucson, Az.
    Hi Everyone!
    Thank you all for your suggestions and help!
    I will try and remember to get back later with an updated photo.

I kinda figured without others to compare it too it could be difficult. We ordered 6 eggs, but the mail man broke a few, and a few had detached air cells. so this is our little miracle baby.

Suebaby,