What's going on???

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by flossyfelix, Nov 10, 2016.

1. flossyfelix

flossyfelix Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 10, 2016
    Lumberton, North Carolina
    My female Pekin was absolutely fine this morning when I let she & her hubby out of their house, however she hasn't laid an egg in 3 days now- they did their normal morning mating & on about the day. I came outside this afternoon & her chest/breast is swollen hugely! She is walking around OK & acting her normal self..other than I have noticed a "squeal" she has been doing the last couple of days instead of just her normal quaking. I have put her in warm water & massaged her..I don't feel anything..I don't think. What is going on? Egg bound? No? Help? I'm fairly new to having my lovebirds!

The picture is not great..but..

[​IMG]

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    @flossyfelix Welcome to BYC

Her chest looks similar to how my one Buff duck looks in the afternoon after she has pigged out on their feed. I don't think that would be egg bound usually when egg bound they don't act normal they lay around or are sitting in the nest box trying to lay. they may go off their feed too. If she hasn't laid in 3 days it may just be her body is resting and she'll soon start back up. They have to take rests from laying off an on. How long was she laying before she just stopped 3 days ago? and what is her age. What do you feed your ducks?

3. flossyfelix

Nov 10, 2016
    @misslydia