What's the best tasting non-hybrid?

Red Fan

Chirping
12 Years
Dec 4, 2007
Ohio
I started with Rhode Island Reds because my initial research said they were a good "multi-purpose" bird. I bought 1 rooster and 5 hens which grew into 2 roosters and 4 hens. So I ate the OLD rooster and kept the young one (a mistake I won't make again.) Now I'm ready to expand. I would like to raise some for the express purpose of eating them. I'd like to avoid chickens that are bred for rapid growth because I don't want to deal with leg problems, over feeding worries and such. I know it's what I've been buying in the stores for years but now that I've seen how they're raised it just doesn't seem natural. I'm not passing a moral judgement here either. I can free range my chickens but I'm not trying to feed a hundred million people. So here's my question.

Have any of you tried several different breeds? Did you notice a difference in taste? If so, what breed tastes best?

Red Fan,

I am new to this, but I have 25 Dark Cornish in a brooder, 1 week old. Not suppose to be as prone to the leg issues as the Cornish X, but still fast growers.

I am looking forward to the taste test.

Have also seen posts here about Freedom Rangers, which are suppose to be tasty.

Good Luck : )

Try posting in the meat bird section, you might get more responses there.
smile.png

Moved to the meat bird section.
smile.png

I find that the flavor of a bird is determined by age rather than breed. Even a silkie tastes the same as a RIR if they are both butchered at the same age. At least I can't tell the difference.

If you're wanting a lot of meat per bird, I'd recommend the dark cornish (or any of the pure cornish breeds). I've read that the Dorkings make a great dual purpose, but I don't have any personal experience with them.