what's the best way?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bullrider, Nov 30, 2008.

1. bullrider

bullrider Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2008
    Utah
    i am very new at this i bought a little giant (9200) with egg turner. I am storing up my eggs for 7 days then i am going to put them in the incubator how should i store them? i have them on there side right now but i heard to put them in a egg crate pointy end down any help would be great. i plan on having about 15 eggs is that enough? thanks, kim

2. LilRalphieRoosmama

LilRalphieRoosmama Officially Quacked

Oct 15, 2007
    Elyria, OH
    I store mine in the egg cartons, little end down. I place a block of wood or something under one of the long sides so the carton is tilted. 12 hours later, I tilt it the other way.

If you have the egg turner, you can also put them in there and let the turner take care of it for you (out of the incubator of course). Eggs should be stored 55-65 degrees.

Good luck!!

3. panner123

panner123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2007
    Garden Valley, ca
    Little end down. Remember to let the eggs come to room temperture before you put them in the incubator. Next to having the temp and humidity right this is that important. Then let the bator come back up to temp without touching it for eight hours. The whole time you are collecting the eggs the bator should be running. Once up to temp, get the humidity set and you will be good to go. Good luck and enjoy your bator. I have others, but this is the only kind I have used for a few years. Once you get used to it your hatchs will be good. I average over 85%.

4. bullrider

Jul 26, 2008
    Utah
    Quote:how do i check the humidity all i got is a thermometer that is cliped on a peace of tin bent in a w shape thanks for all the help

5. Rufflemyfeathers

Rufflemyfeathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2008
    Astatula Florida