What's Up With Blue Cochins?

countyroad1330

Thunder Snow 2009!
13 Years
Oct 15, 2007
Oklahoma!
I was talking to a woman today that has blue Cochins. She said that a blue pair will eventually start producing splashes, and a black roo is needed to keep them blue. (Make sense?) Is that right? I am so confused about blue!

I would like to know this myself. Never heard of this before but then I am new to chicken raising. I have a blue roo, a black roo, a partridge hen and a white hen and won't have any chicks till spring so am wondering what I will end up with myself!

When two blues breed, you can possibly get blue, black or splash chicks. I've hatched all three colors. If you breed splashes, eventually, the color of the blues lightens up and you lose the lacing on the feathers of the blues. To get it back, you need to breed a black bird back into the mix to darken the color back up and get the lacing to reappear on your blues. I'm hoping that I will some day have a Black Orp pullet for my Blue Orp boy, Suede, so the blue chicks will have nice color with lacing on their feathers as they should.

Wow, Cyn, I hope to have half the knowledge you have some day...that is a compliment! I need to save this thread for future reference!

Gee, thanks, but I really don't know that much. If you start throwing out gene designations at me, you lose me completely. Having the Blue Orpingtons and learning all I can about those and how to breed them for better color is how I just happen to know the answer to this question. Doesn't matter what the breed is, the blue gene works the same. Here are two older threads that are great for learning something about how blue works:
http://p098.ezboard.com/The-Blue-Gene/fbackyardchickensfrm3.showMessage?topicID=1682.topic
http://p098.ezboard.com/BlueBlue-makes/fbackyardchickensfrm3.showMessage?topicID=814.topic

It breaks down like this:

If you breed blue x blue -- 50% blue, 25% black, 25% splash
If you breed black x blue -- 50% black, 50% blue