What's w/the Roos?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ElioraImmanuel, Sep 21, 2010.

1. ElioraImmanuel

ElioraImmanuel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2010
    Our flock began in May 2010. A few weeks ago I was given 3 Barred Rocks. They are so aggressive w/the girls. They are continually mounting them and then the loud, shrieking protests of the girls can be heard. Then, the feathers fly! My girls are going to be plucked clean! Oye!

What do I do? Will the aggression calm down? Will the girls become accustomed? What should I expect? TIA!

2. bburn

bburn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2010
    Delaware, Arkansas
    I am new to this also and trying to deal with the number of roo's in my flock. Too many roo's and not enough girls here. Maybe that is it. Or do you have your roo's separated in groups with girls for each?

I am trying to get down to just one roo for my 10 hens....mine are the same age as yours.

3. lleighmay

lleighmay Chillin' With My Peeps

May 21, 2008
    Woodlawn, VA
    Hi- how many hens do you have? The general rule of thumb is 1 roo/8-10 hens- that way the girls get some relief. How old are your hens? Roos? Teenage roosters are like teenage boys- takes a while for them to settle down.

4. tuesdays chicks

tuesdays chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    stuart florida
    How many hen do you have? Are the new rock all rooster? You may have too many roos.

5. roosters4sale

roosters4sale Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2010
    missouri
    Hi. I'm not sure of your hen to rooster ratio, but, I use one rooster to ten hens ( 12 if he is veral). There will be lots of extra competion if there is less,but, thats ok if your roosters are away from the others. All of our roosters have a favorite,and, I can always tell because she always has some feathers gone where he holds on.

6. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas