Whats wrong with my duckies poor foot?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by snapkrackelpop19, Jul 6, 2011.

1. snapkrackelpop19

snapkrackelpop19 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 12, 2010
    Seattle
    My little 6 week ducky has this thing growing on it's foot. What could it be? This is my first time raising ducks so I haven't run into this before. Anyway it's a pekin duck about 6 weeks old and otherwise running swimming and playing just fine [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    I would apply triple antibiotic ointment for a few days to see if it shrinks. If you have a vet it may be a good idea to show them.

There are also fungal infections, and ducks can get tumors, if I recall correctly. I'm not sure how I'd treat a fungal infection. Probably call a vet, zoo, or animal rehabilitator and see if OTC antifungals are safe for use on ducklings. I would love to know that myself!

Drei had a problem with her bill, and antibiotic didn't seem to help, but when I started putting pau d'arco ointment on it, it went away after a number of weeks.

3. snapkrackelpop19

Aug 12, 2010
    Seattle
    Quote:Should I try something like neosporin? It started out like as a darker yellow spot on the foot and then it got darker and then it turned to this, it's like lump and pretty hard. I've heard ducks get a problem called bumblefoot is this what it is?

4. snapkrackelpop19

Aug 12, 2010
    Seattle
    I was thinking of making like a little sock type thing and put some neosporin in it and put it on the bad foot and see if that helps?? I've also read about some stuff where you have to cut out the infection? How do I know if I'm going to have to cut out her little owie. And how do I go about that?

5. snapkrackelpop19

Aug 12, 2010
    Seattle
    [​IMG]

6. Amiga

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Do you know any animal rehab people or a vet who can take a look?