wheaten/ blue wheaten am's

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by CarlieO, Feb 27, 2014.

1. CarlieO

CarlieO Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2013
    WA
    I'm new to Wheaten/Blue Wheaten Ameraucana breeding but I just hatched out 3 chicks. I'm trying to figure out if they're Wheaten or Blue Wheaten and pullets or cockerels. They are only 4 weeks old but I understand this breed is fairly straight forward to see at that age. Here are the 3:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

It may be hard to see but the last pic has black feathers at the very bottom of the wings.

Thank you for any and all advice! :)

2. WalkingOnSunshine

WalkingOnSunshine Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio
    The last two photos look like pullets. I've never seen one with the patterning of the top one, so I don't know.

Look at the photos on Ameraucana.org for reference.

3. CCCCCCCCHICKENS

CCCCCCCCHICKENS Overrun With Chickens

Dec 3, 2012
    Indiana
    1-male
    2-pullet
    3-pullet

I do not keep wheaten/blue wheaten AMs, but you can ask on the ameraucana thread to be 100% sure.

4. CarlieO

Dec 14, 2013
    WA
    Thanks for your response! :) I checked out their website but unfortunately they only have images of day old chicks, front shot of them. No side/wing shots. I was wondering if the first one is a Blue Wheaten cockerel. I'm hoping their legs will begin to change color to the more standard color soon.

5. WalkingOnSunshine

WalkingOnSunshine Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2008
    Ohio
    I didn't notice the legs. They won't change color. It seems that you might have some Easter Eggers instead of Ameraucanas.

I have a Blue Wheaten rooster. He looked nothing like your first photo as a youngster, sorry.

6. CCCCCCCCHICKENS

CCCCCCCCHICKENS Overrun With Chickens

Dec 3, 2012
    Indiana